Retail trading hours

Retail trading hours provide times when retailers in Western Australia can open for business.  In some cases the type of business can dictate the hours which the business can be open to customers. There are also times throughout the year when extended trading may apply such as over the Christmas period or on some public holidays.   

All shops are regarded as general retail shops unless they fall under any one of the other categories including: small retail shops, special retail shops, filling - service stations or motor vehicle shops. 

Christmas extended trading

The following extended trading hours apply to general retail shops in the Perth metropolitan area.

Day / date Trading hours
Saturday, December 8 8am-6pm
Sunday, December 9 8am-6pm
Monday, December 10 8am-9pm
Tuesday, December 11 8am-9pm
Wednesday, December 12 8am-9pm
Thursday, December 13 8am-9pm
Friday, December 14 8am-9pm
Saturday, December 15 8am-6pm
Sunday,  December 16 8am-6pm
Monday, December 17 7am-9pm
Tuesday, December 18 7am-9pm
Wednesday, December 19 7am-9pm
Thursday, December 20 7am-9pm
Friday, December 21 7am-9pm
Saturday, December 22 8am-6pm
Sunday, December 23 8am-6pm
Monday, December 24 7am-9pm
Tuesday, December 25 (Christmas Day) CLOSED (public holiday)
Wednesday, December 26 (Boxing Day) 8am-6pm (public holiday)
Thursday, December 27 8am-9pm
Friday, December 28 8am-9pm
Saturday, December 29 8am-6pm
Sunday, December 30 8am-6pm
Monday, December 31 8am-9pm
2019
Tuesday, January 1 (New Year's Day)) 8.00am to 6.00pm (public holiday)
Wednesday, January 2 (public holiday) 8.00am to 9.00pm 
Normal trading hours resume
Monday, January 28 (Australia Day) 8am-6pm (public holiday)

 

Extended trading

General retail shops in the Perth metropolitan area are able to open between 8am-6pm on the following public holidays:

  • Labour Day (March)
  • Easter Monday (April)
  • Western Australia day (June)
  • Queen's birthday Monday, 24 September 2018

General trading hours

Trading hours for general retail shops in the Perth metropolitan area

  • 8.00 am – 9.00 pm on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday Thursday and Friday
  • 8.00 am – 5.00 pm on Saturday
  • 11.00 am – 5.00 pm on Sunday
  • 11.00 am – 5.00 pm on public holidays
  • CLOSED on Christmas Day, Good Friday and ANZAC Day

Traders do not have to open, however may choose when they open within the specified trading hours. 

Closed for trading days

All general retail shops must be closed on:

  • Christmas Day,
  • Good Friday, and
  • ANZAC Day.

Trading hours by retail type

The Retail Trading Hours Act 1987 applies to retail shops in Western Australia south of the 26th parallel. It sets out the trading hours and rules covering various categories of retail outlets.

The trading hours of the following store types are not covered by the Act:

  • restaurants,
  • cafes, 
  • takeaway food shops,
  • short-term markets (set up and dismantled in one day), and 
  • shops on Rottnest Island 

Small and special retail shops

You must apply for a certificate if you want to trade as a small or special retail shop.

Small retail shops can trade 24 hours a day, every day of the year.

Special retail shops are considered necessary for emergency, convenience or recreation goods. Shops in this category can trade between 6.00 am – 11:30 pm every day of the year. 

Filling stations – service stations

Filling stations include any business that sells motor fuel. Filling station trading hours are deregulated in all areas.

There are restrictions on the range of non-petroleum goods which may be sold from filling stations after general retail shop trading hours.

For further information on after hours non-petroleum stock options contact Trading Hours enquiries on (08) 6251 1406.

The list of the goods able to be sold are prescribed in the regulations.

Motor vehicle shops (car yards)

A motor vehicle shop includes any shop where motor vehicles are sold.

Motor vehicle shops trading hours:

  • 8.00 am – 6.00 pm on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday
  • 8.00 am – 9.00 pm on Wednesday
  • 8.00 am – 1.00 pm on Saturday
  • CLOSED on Sunday
  • CLOSED on public holidays

Non-metropolitan areas

Local government authorities outside the Perth metropolitan area can apply to Consumer Protection to extend the trading hours for general retail shops in their district beyond those stipulated in the Act.

Permits

Extended trading permits are available under certain conditions. These include, for example, swapmeets, trade fairs and industry expos. For specific advice on the issue of permits please contact us on (08) 6251 1406.

Further information 

For further information on retail trading hours, shop leases and wages, contact:

Retail trading hours

Retail shop lease information

Wages

Automotive, Marine and Trading Hours Branch of Consumer Protection
Telephone: (08) 6251 1406

Small Business Development Corporation
Telephone: 131 BIZ (131 249)
Email: info@smallbusiness.wa.gov.au

Wageline (free and confidential private-sector employment information service)
Telephone 1300 655 266
Email: labourrelations@dmirs.wa.gov.au

Share this page:

Last modified: